Vedic Astrology Lessons

Houses and Signs Question

I was recently asked, via email: “If you know the 1st house is in the 4th house wouldnt that tell you which house each sign is in?  And with the planets could they be mutual relationship without being in the same sign or house?”

Response: “Basically,

Mars rules Aries and Scorpio
Venus rules Taurus and Libra
Mercury rules Gemini and Virgo
Moon rules Cancer
Sun rules Leo
Jupiter rules Sagittarius and Pisces
Saturn rules Capricorn and Aquarius

They always rule those signs, that never changes.  However, house rulership changes depending on the ascendant, because the ascendant determines how we count out the houses.  Houses always start with the ascend sign.

So if we have a Gemini Ascendant (the ascendant is the first house) then we know that Mercury rules the 1st house (Gemini) and the 4th house (Virgo), the moon rules the 2nd house (Cancer), the Sun rules the 3rd house, (Leo), Venus rules the 5th house (Libra) and the 12th house, (Taurus), and Mars rules the 6th house (Scorpio) and the 11th house (Aries), and Jupiter Rules the 7th house (Sagittarius) and the 10th (Pisces) and Saturn Rules the 8th (Capricorn) and the 9th (Aquarius).

See how that works…. So this changes with each ascendant, based on how we start counting the houses, and the houses always start with the ascendant.

For Scorpio Ascendant, we have the following house rulerships:

1st Mars  (scorp)
2nd Jupiter  (sag)
3rd Saturn (Capri)
4th Saturn (Aquarius)
5th Jupiter (Pisces)
6th Mars (Aries)
7th Venus (Libra)
8th Mercury (Gemini)
9th Moon (Cancer)
10th Sun (Leo)
11th Mercury (Virgo)
12th Venus (Libra)

This is always true for a Scorpio ascendant as the above mentioned for Gemini is always true.

It’s that way for all the ascendants.”